How to delete checkpoints using Hyper V

 

Deleting checkpoints can help create space on your Hyper-V host.

Behind the scenes, checkpoints are stored as .avhdx files in the same location as the .vhdx files for the virtual machine. When you delete a checkpoint, Hyper-V merges the .avhdx and .vhdx files for you. Once completed, the checkpoint's .avhdx file will be deleted from the file system.

You should not delete the .avhdx files directly.

To cleanly delete a checkpoint:

  1. In Hyper-V Manager, select the virtual machine.
  2. In the Checkpointssection, right-click the checkpoint that you want to delete, and click Delete. You can also delete a checkpoint and all subsequent checkpoints. To do so, right-click the earliest checkpoint that you want to delete, and then click *Delete Checkpoint* Subtree.

You might be asked to verify that you want to delete the checkpoint. Confirm that it is the correct checkpoint, and then click Delete.

1.png